I’m Calling Bullshit!

Regarding Obama’s “Lipstick on a Pig” comment, I call bullshit on Christy Hardin Smith, Marc Ambinder, D-Day, Taylor Marsh and Whoever Kidnapped Jeralyn Merritt (WKJM²)

Each of these people has taken the position that not only were Obama’s comments completely innocent, but that the McCain campaign is trying to manufacture a controversy because no reasonable person could possibly get the idea that Obama was calling Sarah Palin a pig.

Even if someone truly believed that it was an innocent gaffe (I don’t) it is easy to see how that connection could easily be made.  I didn’t need anyone to explain it to me, nor did most former Hillary supporters, because we “periodically” saw these types of misunderstandings before.  Like this one:

The people I named should know better, they all have good reputations.  That kind of blatant mendacity is typical of Cheetoville and bloggers that mainline Kool-aid.

Being an Obama supporter shouldn’t mean that honesty and integrity are less important than winning.  We’re supposed to be the good guys,  That means we don’t do shit like that, because we have ethics.

What Obama did wasn’t the end of the world.  It wasn’t even the worst thing he’s done lately.  It was just a chickeshit cheap shot at Governor Palin, and he hurt himself, not her.  But don’t pretend otherwise because you are supporting him.

BTW – Feminism isn’t just for Democratic women.  I’m a guy and I know that.

12 Responses to I’m Calling Bullshit!

  1. HT says:

    Hear, Hear! You’ve nailed it. It was a third class subliminal insult, and it should be laid bare for the world to see what kind of a person Obama actually is.

  2. Kaye says:

    It’s like we have become everything that we supposedly hated about the GOP! I was angered by the sexism leveled at Senator Clinton, and the fact that I don’t share her ideology, does not make me any less angry about the sexism leveled at Gov. Palin.

  3. I’ve seen enough of Obama’s speeches (performances) to know that clearly he had those zingers prepped and ready to go. Just like so many times before, he was awkward in the delivery, he had those pauses–again, because this time he didn’t have a teleprompter–and he barely delivered it correctly.

    I’m guessing the Obama campaign already had the old footage of McCain ready. See! He did it first!

    Had teleprompters been banned from the beginning of the campaign season, we wouldn’t have the tickets that we do today.

  4. fif says:

    I second that Bullshit Call! How anyone can honestly argue that it was not intentional is categorically ridiculous–especially with Obama’s history. We have seen this exact same thing several times before. We’re supposed to believe that he didn’t know he was referencing one of the most talked about lines in political history, spoken less than a week ago? Preposterous, and I’m sure it is being spread all over the country, rallying the Republican base, as we speak. They are developing their own version of BO rage–welcome to the club.

  5. alice says:

    Yep, I can’t say I’m shocked or offended, because this is just one more typical pearl in a long nasty, cowardly strand. I expect this kind of thing from BO. His campaign reeks of “come on, why do I have to even run against these hick rubes? Let’s end the pretense right now and give me the crown.” I think that’s the source of his fluster and bluster lately. What’s going on here? Why should he even have to stoop to the level of discourse with … *moose hunters*?!

    A major point emerging (for me) from all this: Democrats indeed seem to making the claim that feminism belongs to them and the women of their circle. Heck, “feminists” themselves seem to be making that argument lately. Other women? Women who do crazy things like live in rural areas or call themselves conservative or go to the University of Idaho? Not so much.

    Corollary: the idea that Democrats care for the ordinary person, the less socially or economically advantaged person, is getting harder and harder to argue with a straight face.

  6. PumaInSeattle says:

    Yeah, that brilliant “moose-hunter” comment won McCain/Palin a lot of votes… and lost Obama even more. Sheesh. How dumb can they get? Don’t answer…. and I know; it’s not dumbness, it’s arrogance.

  7. BeBe says:

    I am afraid the “fish” thing is along the same lines but is a more obscure and rank insult. If he is comfortable making obscene gestures in public he is comfortable saying anything. He seems to be a risk taker and knows he may be called on it but thinks he can spin and lie his way out of it. That he is so comfortable doing these things in a passive aggressive manner rather than directly confronting is not a healthy personality profile. He is sneaky and cowardly and everyone is seeing it.

  8. marialby says:

    Dear Hillary Clinton,
    I am not a Democrat, I am not a Republican, I am actually for no particular party. I just vote for who my “heart” FEELS is right for our country at the moment after I hear all sides.
    HOWEVER, what I have seen in these elections has brought me to tears and distress beyond belief.
    I humbly ask you:
    RENOUNCE…RENOUNCE …RENOUNCE…to the principles your party has subjected you to.

    RENOUNCE…To the Sexism and Unfair treatment of qualified women.

    RENOUNCE…To the fact that they are calling us “Pigs” in a political disguise!!! When they call one woman in disguise…they are calling ALL Women!

    RENOUNCE…To the fact that they used you as the sacrificial Lamb and now “They” want you to go fight for them!!!

    I am just a simple woman, not political, not in any party BUT STILL A WOMAN…

    AND I AM HURT…and I don’t have the power that you have to “CHANGE THE WORLD VIEW”.

    WHY SHOULD ANY WOMAN BE CALLED A PIG…EVEN WHEN THEY DISGUISE THIS AS “NORMAL POLITICAL RHETORIC”?

    YOU have fought for us and especially now….DO NOT STOP NOW!!!

    I Know I ASK A LOT OF YOU MRS. HILLARY CLINTON…BUT WHO ELSE CAN I ASK BUT YOU?

    YES, SARAH PALIN IS FIGHTING THE FIGHT OF HER LIFE AND SHE IS GETTING JUST AS MISTREATED AS YOU AND EVEN MORE…AND SHE WILL DO FINE…

    BUT WE NEED YOU…

    REJECT SUPPORTING OBAMA…

    THIS IS …THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA…

    AND YOU AND ME AND US, HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE TREATED WITH RESPECT AND TO BE TREATED FAIRLY…EVEN AT THE COST OF CREATING A NEW PARTY… A NEW WORLD MOVEMENT!

    DO NOT Let these injustices go unheard or unknown in our future history books!

    OBAMA and his people are WRONG!!! And you should not be a pawn in their despicable sexist game.

    NOW I ASK YOU:

    Like McCAIN SAID at the end of his RNC Speech:

    STAND UP AND FIGHT!

    STAND UP AND FIGHT FOR US AND FOR OUR COUNTRY!

    STAND UP AND FIGHT…or we are doomed!

    Sincerely,
    A woman

  9. sister of ye says:

    I grew up with six brothers. I had Obama’s number by the end of last year. My brothers pulled that kind of crap all the time.

    However, they grew up, and while they might be tempted to do it again with me for old annoyance’s sake, they’re smarter than to do it on a job interview.

    Unless, of course, one is apparently interviewing to be asshole-in-chief.

  10. S says:

    What is it about Obama that he inspires his followers to leave honesty and integrity blindly behind all in the pursuit of his winning…

    …what an eye opener this election season has been regarding the left…the so-called Progressives…

    …now we have liberal blogs censoring honest difference of opinions if they question something Obama does…as if, those opinions cannot belong to Democrats

    …Obama is not only driving women from the ‘new Obama Democratic party’…he is helping to create more and more Independents…

  11. Fredster says:

    Hee-hee! I see you learned how to do the superscript thingie! 8)

    And bullshit is right! He knew exactly what he was doing.

    As I commented on Corrente, this guy has women issues. I don’t know if it’s mommy issues or not, but he can’t stand strong women. Which begs the question: How has he stayed with MO? Or rather is it because of MO that he’s got those women issues.

  12. indie in CA says:

    Obama’s remarks were a passive-aggressive sexist slur against VP candidate Governor Sarah Palin. No, he was not calling Palin “a pig,” but referring obliquely to her as “the lipstick” on the pig that is the McCain campaign. He also referred to her as “the newspaper” around a stinking old fish that is the McCain campaign. The first woman on the GOP ticket is likened to a cosmetic or disposable object such as newspaper that is being used to disguise/cover the McCain campaign.

    This is pathetic coming from a presidential candidate who is himself a historic candidate.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

