Is Something Wrong?

Chris Bowers senses that something is wrong:

I am feeling really frustrated today. I am sensing that something is wrong with this convention, and that there will be no bounce. I don’t know exactly what we need to do to get a bounce, but I do know that we haven’t done it yet.

[…]

I have complained about the cognitive dissonance, and I admit that still really bothers me. It is hard for me to be a big partisan and cheer my head off when I am told that partisan bickering is one of the main problems facing the country. It is hard for me to swallow that Democrats have reaped a windfall from corporate lobbyists since taking office, and then to hear about how we have passed great new ethics reforms. It isn’t making a lot of analytical or emotional sense.

So, since I am complaining about cognitive dissonance, maybe I don’t even know what I am complaining about. Right now, the best I can muster is that the convention just doesn’t feel right.

Well Chris, you’re in luck.  I think I know what ails you.

The convention feels wrong BECAUSE IT IS WRONG!

It’s your conscience that is bothering you, and the feel of bad karma.  It’s guilt and the feeling of impending doom. 

Let’s put it another way:

Suppose during the last Super Bowl you were rooting for the New England Patriots.  Things sure looked good for them, with an 18-0 record and a team that dominated both offensively and defensively.  The only question seemed to be how many points they would win by.

But Eli Manning and those plucky New York Giants didn’t listen to the experts.  They got their game on, and kicked the Pat’s collective ass.  That final scoring drive was one for the ages.

So how would you feel if the NFL went ahead and gave the trophy to Tom Brady and the Patriots anyway?  Would you be ecstatic because your team “won?”  Or would you feel that something wasn’t right?

Let’s take this analogy one further.  Suppose you were a New York Giants fan.  Would you feel that the result was fair just because it was “official?”  Or would you be mad as hell?

Would it make a difference if Eli Manning (whose future career was at stake) said he agreed with the outcome?

This Democratic convention will live in infamy.  And karma is a bitch.

12 Responses to Is Something Wrong?

  1. CognitiveDissonance says:

    Excellent post, myiq2xu, and a very apt analogy. Winning something that you cheated to get SHOULD feel bad. And I think there will be plenty of karma to go around, including to all the blog boyz who gleefully went along with it.

  2. bluelyon says:

    Yes! Exactly!

    So he’s feeling a bit uneasy huh? Poor baby.

  3. bmc says:

    Yes indeed. It’s that guilt thing bouncing around in your subconscious. It’s knowing that it’s the means as well as the ends that count, and that cheating to win doesn’t feel all that good, especially when there is so very, very, very much at stake. Well, we’ll see what happens in November, since now that is all that counts. Me? I’m disgusted, disappointed, and completely ambivalent about the whole thing. I feel no investment in my party or my party’s candidate. Now, maybe I’ll change my mind; but I don’t see how that’s going to happen, honestly, because whenever I think about it, I always come back to one fundamental problem: They cheated the better candidate out of the nomination on purpose. I can’t go along with that; it violates my principles. So, I’d be a hypocrite if I supported it; and I hate a hypocrite.

  4. I’m not sure I understand your Superbowl analogy. How is/was the convention wrong, exactly?

  5. myiq2xu says:

    Will:

    In football, the team that scores the most points wins.

    In a democracy, the person who gets the most votes wins.

  6. Not exactly. The person with the most votes in the Electoral College wins. Oh, and in the general election, one party cannot take away voting rights from a state that doesn’t play by the party’s rules. But, that was done at the beginning of the contest so it’s not like anyone was genuinely surprised.

  7. @Myiq2xu: well, yes, but we don’t live in a democracy. We live in a republic. As rationalpsychic sort of pointed out by noting the Electoral college. But you’re saying the Democratic convention was wrong, and that’s what I’m not seeing. Do you mean in terms of the nomination? Wasn’t it pretty clear that Obama had the most votes?

    By your logic the 2000 Presidential election should live in infamy, but it hasn’t, and the GOP kept the White House for 8 years without ever actually getting the most votes.

  8. myiq2xu says:

    Hillary had the most votes.

    And the 2000 election WILL live in infamy too.

  9. “Hillary had the most votes.”

    Rather arguable, don’t you think?

    By most metrics, Obama earned the nomination he deserved, and Hillary stole the whole show by pledging her support and stepping aside with class.

    Me, I want to see her as Secretary of Education. I think she’d be great at that. Or whatever secretary helps design healthcare (as I remember, she was great at that).

    Regardless, hope you’ll still vote for Obama. We can’t afford a divided party right now.

  10. LHinSeattle says:

    “We can’t afford a divided party right now”

    Shoulda thought about that before picking the most divisive candidate in decades to be the “Democratic” party nominee.

    Caucus fraud, delegate intimidation, delegate stealing, convention roll call sham…. no health care, FISA OK …..won’t get my vote. No how, no way.

  11. sharon Arthur says:

    I cannot bring myself to support a candidate that I do not believe in. He has not worked very hard at this, but others sure have on his behalf. He cannot show us much accomplishment. I will support the bottom of the ticket but will not vote for president. The DNC has turned their back on this dynamic women for what they think is a moverment of change. I truly believe they are wrong. Again, I will not support him.

