If Obama Wins it will be a Pyrrhic Victory

There was this community organizer dude once who said: “What profiteth a man if he gains the whole world and loses his own soul?” 

I’ll be honest, I’ve always thought Democrats were, as a group, better people than Republicans.  I also thought liberals were smarter than conservatives.  I have been guilty on many occasions of implying, insinuating and/or explicitly stating that conservative Republicans were racists, hypocrites, warmongers, crooks and morons. 

I’m sure you know what I’m talking about – that abiding conviction that we’re right and they’re wrong.  That’s why we spent all these years supporting the Democratic party and voting for Democratic candidates.

In my mind, liberal/progressive Democrats were the “good guys” and their policy ideas were the best way to keep our country safe, strong and prosperous.  But we weren’t just smarter than “them,” we were morally and ethically superior too.  We supported the Civil Rights movement, opposed wars, fought to protect the enviroment, and all kinds of other things to help make the nation and the world a better place.

For years now the conventional wisdom among Democrats is that our lack of success in electoral politics was based on two things:

1.   The Republicans lie and cheat

2.   The stupid voters fall for it.

Among the disturbing developments we have seen during the course of this year’s Presidential campaign is the widespread acceptance of the idea that we have to “fight fire with fire” and adopt the ruthless and unprincipled tactics associated with Karl Rove and the late Lee Atwater.

That idea has been part of the operating philosophy of David Axelrod and the Obama campaign from the beginning, and the Obama supporters in the blogosphere have not only applauded and encouraged this strategy, but they have enthusiastically participated in it.

Senator Obama’s lack of experience would seem less important if he had come forward with some bold new policy initiatives, a “New Deal” for the 21st Century.  But instead he gave us vague and ambiguous proposals that were just a RCH to the left or right of Hillary’s.  Policy is for losers, and he wants to win!

Obama “won” the Democratic nomination by using Rovian tactics – election fraud and divisive smears.  While his supporters in the DNC were gaming the caucuses and using bribes and/or threats to persuade super delegates, the voters were kept distracted by false accusations of racism against Hillary and Bill.  Meanwhile the very real sexism and misogyny directed at Hillary and her supporters was ignored.

The Democratic Convention was stripped of all meaning and was turned into a tightly scripted four-day coronation party for Teh Precious.  The sham voting for the nomination was more outrageous and insulting than no vote at all would have been.

But then wily old John McCain did somthing unexpected and nominated Governor Sarah Palin as his running mate.  The reaction of Obamanation to her selection surprised me.  I didn’t think this election could get any uglier or more vicious than what we saw in the primaries, but I was wrong.  Waaaaay wrong.

Even more surprising was that many otherwise sane and well-respected bloggers joined in the attacks and smears directed at Ms. Palin and her family.  The frenzied yapping of the angry chihuahuas of Obamanation at DK and DU is nothing new.  But Salon and TalkLeft are two prominent blogs that virtually overnight became infected with Palin Derangement Syndrome.

All pretense of objective reporting/blogging is gone.  Any negative story about Governor Palin is published and circulated, no matter the subject or the lack of supporting evidence.  Anything positive or exculpatory is ignored.  Anonymous rumors, unreliable sources and, biased witnesses are treated as unimpeachable information.  The blatant hypocrisy of  Obama supporters calling Governor Palin inexperienced and questioning her religious connections would be hilarious of it wasn’t disgusting.

The reaction of many of the professional feminists in the media and blogosphere to Governor Palin has been so absurd and over-the-top that it can properly be described as “unhinged”  Ironically, the ones making the most noise didn’t seem nearly as upset last Spring when the He Man Woman-Haters Club  was going after Hillary. 

It was a point of pride for me that liberal Democrats were the “good guys.”  We were supposed to behave ethically and follow the rules, even if the other side didn’t.  “Winners never cheat and cheaters never win” was our motto.  Not anymore. 

Meanwhile, John McCain is running about as clean a campaign as any Republican has in recent history.  Despite what Obamanation claims, the GOP is avoiding any racist stuff.  Of course, that doesn’t stop Obama supporters from hearing “dogwhistles” everywhere.

That really annoys me because I still believe that we can tell the truth, the WHOLE truth and nothing but the truth and win elections.  If we are right and our policies are the best ones for this nation, and our candidates will make the best leaders, we shouldn’t have to spin, twist, distort or lie about the facts.

I also remain unconvinced that after playing down and dirty to win the election Obama will suddenly become a born-again virgin on ethics for the next four years.  Not to mention the taint of corruption his tactics will leave on our party.

So even  if Obama gets his shit together and ekes out a win in November, it will come at too high a price for the Democratic party.

We will have gained the White House, but lost the collective soul of our party.

As for myself, I need to make amends to all the Republicans I’ve been sneering at for years.  If we aren’t so good, then they probably aren’t that bad.  I’ll talk about that more in a future post.

12 Responses to If Obama Wins it will be a Pyrrhic Victory

  1. merciless says:

    I remain absolutely convinced that Obama, should he win, will carry on with the philosophy of the unitary executive. Why else would he have voted on FISA the way he did? He wants that power.

    But he’s stepping into a big bear trap right now, and I don’t see how he’s going to get out. McCain is against the $700B/$1T Wall St. bailout, as are lots of republicans. This is the perfect opportunity for them to run away from Bush and toward the small government conservative principles that win them elections.

    Obama is hunkered down with his Wall St. backers and Paul Volker, and still making vague speeches about the hopey changey things he’s going to do. The democrats are going to get blamed for this any way they vote. I don’t see how they win on this issue. Ideas?

  2. myiq2xu says:

    Merciless:

    It would not surprise me if the GOP told the bandits, er, “bankers” to start spreading the campaign dollars to both parties when they saw this coming.

    Remember how Tom Delay wanted lobbyists to only give money to the GOP? The Dems got the most FM/FM largesse.

    Spread the money, spread the blame.

  3. kenoshaMarge says:

    Life was so much easier when I was dumb as a doorknob. We were the folks in white hats and they were the evil doers in the black hats and the good guys would eventually win. An election.

    Then 2006 happened and YAY we won. And nothing happened. And then the eye-opening events of the two Primaries happened.

    The RNC and Republican Leadership and Rightwing Radio want Mitt Romney and the voters wanted John McCain and so the voters voted and got what they wanted.

    The DNC and Democratic Leadership and Leftwing Radio wanted Obama and a slight majority of voters wanted Senator Clinton. Obama “won” by lying, cheating and allowing his thuggish supporters to intimidate voters.

    I am no longer convinced that either party is worth spit. I’m a Gynocrat from now on and I’m getting me a tan colored hat and I’ll vote for the Governor of Alaska cause I damn well feel like it. Senator McCain can come along for the ride.

  4. justus949 says:

    very brave post, myiq2xu. we are all being challenged to see the shades of gray where before life was easily categorized by extremes.

  5. makana44 says:

    What they learned from Bush/Cheney, starting overtly in 2000, was that the only thing that counts is winning; it doesn’t matter how. Just win. And then they learned that the president is an emperor, who gets everything he wants. And as long as they think they’re going to hold that office, they want to keep it that way. And that K Street pays a lot of money, and money is a good thing and is not corruption as long as it’s paid to them. They also learned that most of the Democratic base were ‘losers’ (loser = anyone not of the SCCC; the so-called ‘creative class’) and supporting their causes makes them losers, too.

    Obama’s post position in the primaries was bought and paid for. You began exposing that in the ‘follow the money’ post. His wins in the red state primaries were the result of thuggery and collusion. The people who own him are the same class who own Bush. We’d be swapping one for the other if he wins.

    McCain, otoh, owes squat to the Republican party. He kissed every butt he could find, and they still wanted him buried like they buried him in 2000. There is no love loss between the repug faithfuls and Mr. John McCain. When he gets into office he will be without allegiance to anyone but himself. McCain is courageous and a leader. We started seeing that last Friday, when way ahead of anyone else, he called the Bush/Cheney/Paulson bailout bad news for the American people and an illegal, unregulated mess. Palin may have different values than I, but I see no evidence that she finds it necessary to impose her values on others; and I like the idea that she’s lived as an average human being in the not-to-distant past. The fact that she’s a woman matters to me a lot, and I don’t care to explain why.

    An Obama administration, rife with ego, arrogance, selfishness, ignorance, ugliness, corruption, moral turpitude, and a profound dearth of leadership experience – would be an unmitigated disaster. A McCain administration, committed to reform, ending cronyism, bringing well-established leadership credential and real, verifiable achievement, would at the very least keep our country from slipping into degeneracy on a rudderless ship of state; and at the very best mark an era of accountability and respectability. And since the Democrats will likely be the majority in both houses of congress, would result in greater balance without chance of extremism.

    For the first time I’m voting Republican. I do not regret it. I think McCain/Palin will be a welcome change from the current atrocity. My only regret is that Hillary, and some of my own causes, have to wait until 2012. Hopefully she’ll become Senate majority leader. Regardless, the Faux Democ-Rats will be marched out of the real party and she, Russ and a few others will keep alive the reality that liberal/progressive Democrats still are the “good guys.”

  6. joanie in Brooklyn says:

    Since the primary season ended, I have also spent hours rethinking my life long opinions of Republicans and now believe many of my assumptions about both parties were wrong. My eyes are now wide open and I don’t like what I see, particularly on my “side”

  7. Irlandese says:

    What kenoshaMarge said! This is an excellent post. I’ve reregistered Independent, and never again will I fall for the goodguy/badguy “partisan” BS. It’ll be cold comfort for me, should BO win the GE, that he will be stepping into an enormous pile of doo. At this point, the pinnacle he seeks is simply the title, but not the actual job.

  8. merciless says:

    Update: I was wrong. Or maybe I was right yesterday but not today. I guess McCain is FOR the bailout, and has high-tailed it back to Washington (sorry, no time for debate, gotta country to run!) to do, well, something, I dunno what, but something anyway.

  9. makana44 says:

    McCain is high-tailing it back to DC not necessarily because he’s for the bailout, but apparently to ensure that he’s not left out the debate. You can’t have much impact on the outcome if you’re not there participating in the negotiations and voting on the outcome. It remains to be seen what actually finally transpires, but it sure would be a lack of courage for McCain to back-pedal all the way from his very clear statement of dissatisfaction made last Friday. Go read his prepared remarks. They were the clearest and most inspired response to the Paulson/Bush money-grab I’ve seen. It was an inspired piece of leadership and I hope he doesn’t cave. Obama would have bought into the buyout from the very beginning had McCain not come out against it. McCain was the first to shoot it down; even Krugman waited till the end of the weekend.

    It feels very weird supporting McCain this one time, but Obama isn’t any more of a Democrat than he is. And McCain is more of a conservative Libertarian than he is a Bush/Cheney Republican. If Obama wins, the Democratic party of FDR/Clinton is gone, history. So, for me, the choice is pretty clear. I want to see the Democratic party survive, and it won’t if it is the party of Obama.

  10. LibOne says:

    This post has eloquently described what I have been feeling since the New Hampshire primary. Howard Dean broke my heart. I still believe in the principle behind the 50 state strategy. I believe that the party should be helping local and state candidates in all 50 states. His version of the 50 state strategy is to waste money propping up a weak presidential candidate in states where he’ll never win.

    I feel so betrayed by the so called progressives that have hi-jacked my party.

  11. radlyboo1 says:

    The last few days I have been reading comments such as “I am feeling a darkness”, “it is looking hopeless”. I too have lost hope for my life long party and am now using the words I used for the rethugs – vile, criminal, greedy, corrupt, reprehensible – for my party. It is with a great sense of sadness on top of the rage I have felt for what was done to Hillary and Bill and about 20 million voters. Your post expresses those phases I have experienced as well as the respect I have lost for party members who are now “insane”. It’s really sad. I will be voting for Mcpalin – I have no problem now of doing that and before I thought it would not be possible.

    Usually Myiq, you make me laugh – I really owe you for all the humor you have given me the last several months. But the truth is really awful and it is setting in deeply, painfully.

  12. lojah says:

    Great Post. I was born into a democrat family. Both my parents were democrats, three of my grandparents died democrats and my one remaining grandmother is a democrat to this day. When I turned eighteen, I registered democrat. I was liberal, I was a tree hugger (still am).

    During the 90’s my parents, my then girlfriend and I all changed parties. I saw then much of what you are seeing now, only now it’s even worse. I found myself surrounded more and more by Marxism and anti-Americanism. I couldn’t stand it anymore. The radical left had hijacked the party.

    It’s not always pleasant being a Liberal Republican, but at least I feel like I’m in a patriotic party again. During Bush II, I’ve considerd going Independent, but I’ll probably never return to the Democratic Party.

    My current significant other is still a democrat, but considering changing parties after she witnessed the Hillary-Obama debacle. She’s just amazed at how in the tank for Obama the MSM is. I laughed and said “It’s nothing the republicans haven’t been talking about for years … you’re just finally on THIS side for a change and now you can see it.” That’s how I feel about a lot of the disinfranchised Hillary supporters who are now in the McCain camp.

    It’s amazing how different things look once you’re on this side of the debate.

    http://goddrinksbeer.wordpress.com/

