Don’t believe everything you read

 

     I saw a link to a post at Taylor Marsh and some intuition made me click on it.  The post concerned a letter from someone claiming to be a former PUMA:

Dear Taylor, I wanted to write to you and apologize for things I’ve thought and said in the past after our primary elections were over. I admit, I was very very mad at you for not going along with what I know believe was a staged GOP chaos operation. I don’t feel good about myself or my actions being involved in a group that was nothing but full of lies and hate and looked at people like me as disposable if I no longer went along with their agenda. I feel disgusted, sad and just icky. If I could take the last few months back, I would. I am saddened and ashamed of my actions and behavior. I want to say I am deeply sorry for things I’ve either posted here out of anger or elsewhere. I wrote the following as a way I hope I can roughly explain my horrible experience with the so called PUMA group. Take care.

The last couple months I started to get the feeling these were not even Hillary supporters, much less Democrats. I found them parroting Rush talking points, posting articles from Free Republic and even throwing Hillary Clinton under the bus. I’ll never forget one thread where Hillary was fundraising for Obama. Two supposedly Hillary P.U.M.A. said she looked haggard and unattractive. I began to see the months I spent fighting misogyny along side people I thought were on my side be wasted and flushed down the drain. They also continued to insinuate Hillary was a weak woman and being controlled by Obama, that she doesn’t really support him, only doing what she is told to do. …

… Over the last couple months I noticed my favorite Hillary board begin to change. Republicans were made moderators and the new members vs old members was 2:1….

… I had posts deleted for pointing out Sarah Palin supported giving $150 per severed wolf paw in Alaska that was killed from an aerial plane. I had posts deleted that said trickle down economics doesn’t work. I had posts deleted that showed McCain favors giving tax cuts to the wealthy while Obamawants to give a break to the poor and middle class. I was told by Hillary supporters that McCain has a better tax plan AND healthcare plan than Obama. When I said no and pointed out reasons why..you guessed it..my post was deleted. Right there was my proof these were never Hillary supporters. …

I would like to thank the P.U.M.A.s for making me wake up before it was too late. … … …

(emphasis added)

I’m assuming that the ellipsis marks [. . .] were placed there by Ms. Marsh to indicate missing text.  Now Taylor supported Hillary during the primaries but promised that she would support Obama if he became the official nominee.  I’m not going to criticize her for keeping that promise, even though I chose a different path.

But when I saw that letter I recognized it from a post I saw while wading through some sewage early this morning:

Why I’m no longer a P.U.M.A.I admit it. I was a bitter, angry and scorned woman. Hillary Clinton was my choice during the primary and when she lost, well, I guess I couldn’t cope. Then P.U,M.A. was there to rescue me. What a coincidence. They were all set ready to go even before the last primary election. Isn’t it like that with all fringe radical groups. They prey on the vulnerable and the insecure. I admit it, I was fooled and used. These people are not Hillary Clinton voters or supporters. The few left that did vote for Hillary are no longer on her side. Trust me. I blogged with them and I got to know them.

P.U.M.A. turned me into an ugly, vile, hateful and ranting person. I went so far as to attack and smear one of my favorite Hillary bloggers after the convention. The weird thing? I was starting to become what I was supposedly fighting against. I don’t know what happened to me. When Hillary said “were you for me and my policies or were you just for me.” That made sense. McCain is the furthest thing from Hillary or her policies. Not to mention Sarah Palin who is a right wing lunatic. How is it I was excited about Palin, when she is EVERYTHING that I am against? It was gender plain and simple. John McCain and P.U.M.A. pandered to people like me and I couldn’t be happier it will be his downfall. He will go down as the first nominee that created and bought his own staged propaganda and lies.

The last couple months I started to get the feeling these were not even Hillary supporters, much less Democrats. I found them parroting Rush talking points, posting articles from Free Republic and even throwing Hillary Clinton under the bus. I’ll never forget one thread where Hillary was fundraising for Obama. Two supposedly Hillary ‘P.U.M.A.s’ said she looked haggard and unattractive. I began to see the months I spent fighting misogyny along side people I thought were on my side be wasted and flushed down the drain. They also continued to insinuate Hillary was a weak woman and being controlled by Obama, that she doesn’t really support him, only doing what she is “told to do”. They also said she was going to vote for McCain. They state it as FACT. They know all about how Hillary feels, thinks and what she is going to do in the voting booth. Pretty amazing, non?

Over the last couple months I noticed my favorite Hillary board begin to change. Republicans were made moderators and the new members vs old members was 2:1. People who were the foundation of the board began to be silenced and censored. I had posts deleted for pointing out Sarah Palin supported giving $150 per severed wolf paw in Alaska that was killed from an aerial plane. I had posts deleted that said trickle down economics doesn’t work. I had posts deleted that showed McCain favors giving tax cuts to the wealthy while Obamawants to give a break to the poor and middle class. I was told by “Hillary supporters” that McCain has a better tax plan AND healthcare plan than Obama. When I said no and pointed out reasons why..you guessed it..my post was deleted. Right there was my proof these were never Hillary supporters.How can someone favor, much less state, McCain has a better plan for the economy, a better plan for middle Americans, a better plan for healthcare, when Obama and Hillary’s aforementioned plans were almost identical? Just yesterday a couple of them were making fun of poor people and how people on welfare should just get off their asses and find a job. The P.U.M.A.s are either willing to walk off that bridge to nowhere or they are Republicans. I refuse to lose faith in those that are for Hillary. These are Republicans.

The final straw was the bear cub that was shot in the head and dumped in front of a University with Obama posters stapled to it. I was horrified, but wait. I was told by the P.U.M.A. group this wasn’t an anti-Obama crime or one carried out by someone that would vote for McCain/Palin. No. This was carried out by Obama supporting college students to show their support for Obama! Their conclusion? These college kids went out hunting for a small cub, shot it in the head to show they are against animal killing. I am not kidding. That is how sick and delusional these people are.

I would like to thank the P.U.M.A.s for making me wake up before it was too late.Without your push I’m not sure I could’ve done it on my own. I was used and treated like yesterday’s trash when I didn’t want to tow the line anymore. These people are not your friends, they are not on your side, they just want to use you and create chaos and fear in order to have Obama lose. When they don’t have any use for you they will throw you out. It’s not to late to any true Hillary supporters out there that still belong to P.U.M.A. Hillary was right. We cannot afford 4 more years of the failed Republican policies. With less than two weeks to go until voting day, I can say it wasn’t too late for me to come home and I hope there are stragglers that can do the same.

Thank you Hillary, for leaving the light on for me.

(emphasis added)

 

The second site is an anti-PUMA site that seems primarily dedicated to slandering The Confluence and Darragh Murphy as well as other prominent PUMAs.  Although Riverdaughter and myself drew individual attention, the Conflucian I saw singled out the most was garychapelhill, but I suspect that may be because they are jealous of his relationship with Mawm.  I found myself being slammed in a post along with Violet Socks and I felt honored to be it such good company.

As you can see, the two letters are substantially identical, and were either by the same author or the second person committed plagiarism.  It’s impossible to determine because one is anonymous and the other pseudonymous.

Debunking the obvious lies would take too much time but it’s worth noting that no particular PUMA site is mentioned in either letter.  You would think that a “Hillary board” where “Republicans were made moderators and the new members vs old members was 2:1” would be easy to identify, however no blog I’m familiar with comes to mind.

One thing is obvious to any real PUMA – the original author was never one of us.  The sentiments expressed in those letters are the stereotypical perception of a PUMA, not the feelings of a former Hillary supporter who refuses to “get over it” and support Teleprompter Jesus.   The author of those words is a Kool-aid slurping member of Obamanation.

It’s very possible that the person appeared on PUMA blogs and posted comments where they claimed to be a PUMA, but if they did they were there as ratfuckers, sent by David Axelrod to spy on us and sow dissension.  I recognized one name as someone who went from avid PUMA to anti-PUMA virtually overnight, but that person claims to be a male.  A ratfucker wouldn’t lie about a thing like that, would they? 

I have a message for anyone spreading lies about PUMA.  Captain Spaulding says Sweet dreams!”

45 Responses to Don’t believe everything you read

  1. Tony Sidaway says:

    Can you name some high profile PUMAS?

  2. parentofed says:

    Don’t believe everything you read…… and I certainly don’t. There’s so much crap out there. Funny thing is, PUMA’s don’t ask prosletyze other people, we just talk over what we think and why and how we plan to vote. Other people can’t shut up about us, the 8 or 9 that exist.

  3. myiq2xu says:

    Tony:

    At The Confluence: Riverdaughter, garychapelhill, katiebird, madamab, dakinkat, Lady Boomer, Mawm, Bostonboomer, Me

    Elsewhere: Alegre, New Hampster, Darragh Murphy, Will Bowers, Diane Mantvolous, Heidi Li, Joe Cannon and Marc Rubin.

    That’s off the top of my head, but one more person deserves attention – sm77, who coined the name Party Unity My Ass

  4. britgirls says:

    What a brave clown to go over to Taylor Marsh. I used to love that site, but the comments section NEVER felt as welcoming as The Confluence. I’m so glad I found a new hang out.

    Is that blood on Capt. Spaulding’s hands? Nightmares for me tonight. I remember reading Stephen King’s “It” on the deck of a cruise ship in blazing sunshine. I was so shit scared I had to stop reading every few pages and look around and feel I was back in reality. If I had seen a balloon at that instance I would’ve jumped overboard in a blind panic.

  5. katiebird says:

    MyIQ, the biggest hint in that letter that the author was never (at heart) a P.U.M.A. is the give-away-line: “I was told by “Hillary supporters” that McCain has a better tax plan AND healthcare plan than Obama.”

    A P.U.M.A. isn’t in love with McCain’s policies. Any P.U.M.A. supporting McCain isn’t doing it for love of McCain. No, P.U.M.A.s who support McCain are doing it out of disgust for Obama’s lying ways. And the fact that Democrats keep taking issues of importance “off the table”

    I don’t mind holding my nose to vote for weak candidates (hell, I’ve done it all my life!) but, Kerry has already told us that Universal Health Care is off the table. Well, that one’s pretty obvious after the Bail Out…

    I’m not planning to vote for McCain. I’m giving Nader my vote for getting it so right in 2000 — there isn’t a single difference worth mentioning between the Democrats and Republicans. And when I read his platform I find myself agreeing with every single point.

    PS — I’m honored to be on your list of High Profile P.U.M.A.s — Thank you!

  6. garychapelhill says:

    myiq, christina hates me because I found an old blog of hers that she tried to scrub in which she makes some naughty anti-semitic remarks–I believe she called a woman she was stalking a “jappy narcissist”. I posted about it at the confluence in a post I did about that creep Tommy Christoher feeding bogus info to David Shuster when he had Darragh and will on. here’s the post I wrote

    I don’t think the link to the google cache of her old blog works any more, but I have screen shots…just like pea brain christina likes to do. Reading her earlier works is definitely an insight into how angry and deranged christina is. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen Kitty’s vile comments at the confluence as they generally get caught by spammy, but they are beyond vile. I’m pretty sure that christina is “kitty”

  7. katiebird says:

    {{Gary}} I miss you!

  8. garychapelhill says:

    hey katie!!! same here.

  9. katiebird says:

    Gary, Email coming soon…

  10. bostonboomer says:

    Nice catch, myiq2xu! A bear cub shot in the head and Obama signs attached to him?? That’s worse than the fake incident in Pittsburgh. Give me a break!

  11. bostonboomer says:

    Gary,

    I never thought of that. I’ll bet she is “kitty.”

  12. myiq2xu says:

    Gary:

    Some of the comments I saw about you weren’t from “Christina” I stand by my comment that they were probably motivated by jealousy.

  13. garychapelhill says:

    IMO christina is motivated by rage. As for the source of that rage, I don’t even want to begin to speculate. the others are just snotty little obots who mistake hateful bitter commentary for snark. They also fancy themselves part of the OFB, but they’re actually their second (or fourth) tier. Hell, Tommy Christopher has the balls to call himself a journalist. He’s a two bit propaganda hack who tried to make the big time by feeding unsourced material to shuster.

  14. Woman Voter says:

    Well, they will go and discredit us where ever they can and lets not forget who were the ones that were working hard to retire her debt. The latter to me is the ultimate respect and many PUMAs are on the monthly plan to help her out. Action to me is the real deal and Hillary will always be THE BEST CANDIDATE THAT JUST HAPPENED TO BE A WOMAN. If I should look as good as she does on her 61 birthday, I will feel so blessed, and gosh the most beautiful part is her mind…that is just brilliant. Happy Birthday Hill!

  15. Tony Sidaway says:

    myiq2xu, thanks for the list.

    Many of those names you gave look like usernames or something. Do you have names of actual people who are active in the political sphere?

  16. myiq2xu says:

    Gary:

    Senor Pompous Ass and “palomino” were shit talking the both of us.

    They called me a “petulant clown”

    Their comments reminded me of two fleas claiming ownership of a dog. (the dog could give a shit what they say)

  17. myiq2xu says:

    Tony:

    Real names are not mine to disclose. I prefer to remain pseudonymous

    I can tell you that Riverdaughter, Alegre and Heidi Li have been active in the Democratic party for more years than they like to admit, lest they reveal that they are no longer in their early twenties.

    If you are looking for well known names, I’m sorry to say there are none, at least none that are willing to disclose themselves. PUMA is a true grassroots coalition, we are a bunch of little people united in common cause.

  18. Christina says:

    I can see you are extremely troubled by the fact you were caught being a sexist pig by one of our bloggers.
    Gary- rage? Really? You’re the ones angry, blogging, and protest voting… and I have rage? lol.. that’s projection if I’ve ever seen it.
    As for what you “caught” on my old fictional writing blog- oooo you got me. I used a common term that jewish women use to identify themselves. Yes, you caught me!! YIKES! Nice going, Sherlock.
    And I don’t “hate” you. In fact, I think i’ve mentioned you- um- twice…
    But nice spreading those lies about me being someone called “kitty” I’m sure you could check IP addresses and clear up that confusion. But I wont pressure you to be honest, out of fear of upsetting someone with your “erratic” personality.. I’ve witnessed first hand how you like to talk to women. That’s a topic for another day.

  19. garychapelhill says:

    palomino is also a friend of Intelligent By Design, who I also believe is a troll. they were badmouthing me at that blog too…lol..yeah fleas. there’s nothing more pathetic than being the opposition to the opposition group…

  20. myiq2xu says:

    Gary:

    Some trolls show up and immediately say something that gets them flamed and banned. They are suicide bombers.

    Some are more subtle. Their goal is to infiltrate and undermine.

  21. katiebird says:

    MyIQ, That’s right. The subtle ones go in bursts but eventually they can’t stop themselves. One of the defining behaviors of an Obot is that they can’t stop themselves.

  22. myiq2xu says:

    I let “Christina” leave a comment so she couldn’t claim we were afraid to post what she said.

    The best defense to lies is the light of day.

  23. Woman Voter says:

    Tony Sidaway Says:
    October 26, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    myiq2xu, thanks for the list.

    Many of those names you gave look like usernames or something. Do you have names of actual people who are active in the political sphere?

    ***
    myiq2xu,

    Yea, like you are going to give up PUMA names to Tony sideways and Obama Camp so they can Joe Plumber PUMAs! Yea, most active PUMAs and just some plain Ole Hillary supporters got the TAR AND FEATHER TREATMENT DURING THE PRIMARIES AND THE PRESS NEVER REPORTED IT!

  24. Woman Voter says:

    BTW: Joe Plumber is doing a personal attack using the government and the government resources against a private citizen for daring to ask A QUESTION!

    Now the rest of the country will know what PUMAs have had to put up with and also the countless attacks on the sites and personal attacks on those that are up front with their real names. It is truly a sad day when the government goes after its own citizens for asking a question.

  25. myiq2xu says:

    I left a comment at TM where I informed Ms. Marsh that the letter she posted had been posted elsewhere.

    The comments by the posters there are revealing.

    just click on the link above.

  26. garychapelhill says:

    myiq, check this out. obots…classier than ever

    http://garychapelhill.wordpress.com/2008/10/27/stay-classy-obots/

  27. Tony Sidaway says:

    So, a grassroots movement composing maybe a dozen or so blog users, based on the notion that Obama is an unsuitable candidate for President and Hillary Clinton should have been selected?

    Gallup recently polled and found that, among women nationally, Obama leads McCain by 54 percent to 39. This grassroots movement doesn’t seem to have much penetration.

  28. myiq2xu says:

    Tony:

    Us “dozen or so blog users” have generated nearly 4 million hits since Riverdaughter founded The Confluence. I’d say we penetrated your colon and clear up to your throat.

    What have you done?

  29. Tony Sidaway says:

    We could do this without the anatomical references.

    I gave you the poll ratings. Maybe they’re misleading–we’ll know on November 5–but it’s not sensible to refute them with hit counts.

  30. myiq2xu says:

    We? How many of you are there? Or do you hear voices in your head?

    Polls are estimates, hit counts are real. There are a lot more of us than “a dozen of so blog users.”

    BTW – This is my blog, and I’ll say whatever the fuck I want.

  31. AniEm says:

    The political “names” of PUMA are “We, the People”. We stand in opposition to a packaged candidate who lacks values and leadership at a crucial time in our history.

    BTW, a great many political nonentities fought in and helped win the Revolutionary and Civil Wars.

  32. Pat Johnson says:

    The fact that this writer felt the urge to genuflect to Taylor Marsh says more about her than it does for those of us who comment at the Confluence. Taylor Marsh for God’s sake!

  33. myiq2xu says:

    Pat:

    I was really surprised at the low number of comments on Taylor’s posts over there. She lost 80-90% of her traffic since she went for Obama

  34. Chevalier says:

    Tony,

    I love that Obots trying to refute logic always end up citing the wrong facts.
    Women may be supporting Obama 54-39, and…?

    PUMAs are not all women, and all women are not PUMAs. One example is myiq, the blogger whose blog you’re at.

    Not even in the primaries did all women support Hillary Clinton vs. obama. It was somewhat like 55-45 overall that did. And given that women are naturally and usually more Democrat-leaning than men are in our country through the last 70 years, Obama having a 15 point lead is not exceptional in.the.least. In fact, I’d say he’s underperforming badly.

    And btw, O/T, to all those myths about why Obama is such an amazing figure, that he’s energized hordes of new people in the election and in politics, etc.:
    http://www.gallup.com/poll/111331/No-Increase-Proportion-First-Time-Voters.aspx

    There’s also many, many analyses showing that he in fact has FEWER small donors than either Bush or Kerry did in 2004. Who wants to tell Taylor Marsh – any volunteers?

  35. Eddie says:

    Re: “I was really surprised at the low number of comments on Taylor’s posts over there. She lost 80-90% of her traffic since she went for Obama”

    She deserved to lose a lot more. Myiq, I know where you get that she said she’d support Obama and that is correct. It’s also correct that she said the opposite as well when she was in lunch-pail phase and blogging about her husband. That’s when she said she’d vote her country first and she made clear she didn’t think Obama was good for the country. So,yeah, she said she would support the nominee and then she started saying maybe she wouldn’t because “I am an American first.” I remember it. And I remember how quickly she crumbled. I never went back to her site again.

    I can name 13 or 14 sites in addition to the ones noted above that are Anyone But Obama. PUMA’s a lot bigger than Tony’s aware.

  36. Carol says:

    High Profile PUMA’s:

    President William Jefferson Clinton
    Senator and former First Lady of the United States of America and Arkansas Hillary Rodham Clinton
    Chelsea Clinton

  37. jjmtacoma says:

    I was never big on TM. I used to read some stuff once in a while, but it was to self-promotional for my taste.

    Oh, and THOSE TEETH!

  38. Bud White says:

    Taylor Marsh was great place to meet Hillary supporters. Her posts were a snore, IMO.

  39. TheRealKim says:

    Hi, myiq. Great post, but how could you stomach going to TM?

  40. murphy says:

    RD’s had 4 million visits and so have we.

    Klownhaus and Gary’s new blog and a dozen more on my blogroll attest to the scope of the movement.

    Tony is right about one thing though. We’ll be proved right on November 4th.

    Your post reminds me of something someone sent me, supposedly from an employee of the Obama Campaign, basically admitting the tactics of their astr-turfing efforts.

    This alleged letter from a former Puma sounds JUST like something an astr-turfer would be paid to write.

    for the astro-turfing comment, go here and read comment #25.

    weird.

  41. myiq2xu says:

    Kim:

    That was my first visit to TM since June. But I had been sewer surfing earlier so TM was an improvement.

  42. scrubs57 says:

    Dude, that blown up picture of Capt Spaulding is even scarier than your gravatar.

    Just thought I’d come over and visit your site.

    good job.

    scrubs

  43. lillianjane says:

    Re: polls

    Voters, women included, aren’t flocking to support Obama, they are flocking to punish the party that gave us the Wall Street debacle. A trained seal could beat McCain at this point.

  44. Mrs.Polly says:

    Braawk! Polly want a cracker! Braawk!

  45. Tony Sidaway says:

    Well we’ve got the results now. Everybody has had a good week to absorb the result of the Presidential election.

    Gallup reports that even close to half of conservatives say of Obama that they are “confident in his ability to be a good president.” Among self-described moderates and liberals, confidence is even higher. Polling was performed between November 9th and 11th.

    So it seems that people are putting their faith i Obama, even many of those who voted for McCain.

