PUMA Planning

Darragh Murphy said “We are the ones no one was expecting.”  Damn straight!  PUMA is something rare and unusual, a genuine grassroots movement.  I am proud to be a part of it, and proud of my sisters and brothers in the coalition. 

But regardless of who wins next week, PUMA has a lot of work to do in the months and years ahead of us.  Although we surprised a lot of people (including ourselves) when we came into existence halfway through the campaign, we no longer have the element of surprise on our side.  So where do we go from here? 

Don’t look at me for the answer, I don’t know.  I do have some ideas, but so do many of you, and this coalition belongs to all of us.  Here is my suggestion, just a modest proposal and not anything more:  Think about it.

Think about what you would like PUMA to be, what you think we should do and stand for.  And one more thing, think about what you are willing and able to do for PUMA.

We need to think about, talk about it, and then we need to do something about it.  If we are going to make a difference, we need to start now.  And as Pat Johnson said earlier, “Let’s stop looking at 2012.”

7 Responses to PUMA Planning

  1. TheRealKim says:

    I stated my thoughts at The Confluence. I am ready to get this show on the road.

  2. Pat Johnson says:

    Just for the record: I will not join any group or organization that has Capt Spaulding as a member!!!

  3. myiq2xu says:

    Pat:

    Don’t worry, as a convicted felon and a fugitive from justice, Captain Spaulding is ineligible to vote.

  4. lillianjane says:

    That is the cutest little PUMA ever.

    I stopped reading PUMA websites because many commenters started sounding really into things Republican. I’m glad Riverdaughter and you said something about it. You can protest-vote without convincing yourself that you love McCain/Palin. You can decry sexist treatment of Palin without celebrating her as a feminist icon.

    My strategy will be to turn in early next Tuesday, but beyond that, I don’t know. myiq2xu, where did you get this name? Or is it random characters?

  5. stxabuela says:

    I have posted at the Confluence, but I hope this question comes up after the election. I think the PUMA network can be quite powerful. I think we need to get past the emotions of this election and start planning after the election, no matter who wins or loses.

  6. myiq2xu says:

    lillianjane:

    My alias was given to me by someone as a joke. I’ve used it for years partly because I discovered that how people react to it is very revealing. It was never intended to be taken seriously.

    My IQ 2 x U

  7. propertius says:

    Like Kim, I’ve already replied over at Riverdaughter’s Home for the Disaffected. I’ll chime in here, too, just for fun. Quite honestly, if Obama wins, we’re going to have a damned difficult time accomplishing much of anything for the first couple of years. The Obots are going to run the party for awhile, coasting on an electoral victory and majorities in both houses of Congress.

    Things will probably be very different come 2010. No matter who is elected, I think we’re in for a very rough 2-3 years. It’s a given that Dems will lose seats in Congress in the 2010 midterms. I also think that whoever gets elected President this year will most likely only serve one term. I think that Palin is probably the front-runner for the Republican nomination in 2012 (although a lot can happen between now and then). If Obama runs for a second term, I think he’ll probably lose and we’ll be in for another 8-16 years of Republican rule.

    We probably won’t lose the Congress in 2010. We might well lose it in 2012, for a couple of reasons:

    1) If the economy is as bad as I suspect it will be, there will be a very strong anti-incumbent trend in both 2010 and 2012. Republican incumbents will of course be able to point the finger at Democratic domination of the executive and legislative branches to secure reelection.

    2) Since the DNC has become a wholly-owned subsidiary of Obama for America, very little has been spent on candidate development or campaigning for downticket Dems – particularly for state legislators. There’s a census in 2010, with subsequent reapportionment. In most states, this will be done by the legislature, which ought to be thoroughly packed with Republicans by 2011 or so. They’ll be able to redraw district boundaries with impunity, and the result won’t be pretty.

    In any event, the Obama domination of the party ought to be weakened by 2010, and pretty much demolished after 2012.

    If Obama loses, of course, there will be the usual orgy of recriminations and finger-pointing. I think Dean will be finished as DNC chair. I don’t think most of Obama’s youthful supporters will have the patience for the grunt work of party organization. So, what to do?

    1) If you live in a caucus state, work to get a primary. This will require legislation. Write your state legislators. If your state allows ballot initiatives (which I generally oppose, but I’ll make an exception in this case), then find out what the requirements are and when you can get this on the ballot. As we all know, caucuses are anti-democratic – they disenfranchise parents, shift workers, the disabled, and the elderly. They allow bullying, fraud, and coercion. In other words, they suck.

    2) Most local and state parties hold reorganization meetings every two years, a few months after the elections. Find out what you have to do to participate (if you don’t already). Try to get on your state central or executive committee – this gives you a vote on your state party officers and DNC members. Take the party back one superdelegate at a time.

    You can start on item (1) *now*. Item (2) will probably have to wait until early 2009. You might not experience much success until 2011 or 2013. Don’t give up.

