Got your riot gear ready?

Get your pitchforks and torches ready, and a list of the stores you plan to loot, cuz according to Obamanation all hell breaks loose on November 4th and 5th.  That is, of course, assuming that the racists in the country steal the election that Teh Precious has already won.

Seriously, that is the message we are hearing.  It’s an amped up version of what Donna Brazile and other Obama supporters said would happen in Denver if Hillary “stole” the nomination from Teleprompter Jesus.  Obamanation’s rebels without a clue don’t really plan to riot, it’s just part of the pre-election haka, designed to convince us that Obama is the inevitable winner.

But over at Corrente, Chicago Dyke poses this question:

For the sake of argument, let’s say Obama wins, very clearly and obviously in your own mind. And let’s say that somehow, insert your own 2000 redux here, “they” (try to) take it away from him, via Brooks Brothers riots and SCOTUS foolishness and other sundry undemocratic methods. What is your response, if any? And why? How would it be different than if HRC had had it stolen from her? Or the candidate of Your Choice?

I don’t think McSpain has the ground game to steal it this time; I also don’t think Wall St/Telco Ave money wants Obama to lose. So honestly I’m not so worried about it. I think we’ll get a “democratic” prezint next Jan. But let’s say the paranoid, insane racist members of the Franchise refuse to give up power, and pull out all the tricks, and declare at 3am Nov 5 that “McCain Wins!” What do you do?

Although she slides in the mention of Hillary and “candidate of Your Choice” along with some other qualifiers and disclaimers, the framing of the question is premised on the idea that if the election is stolen, it will be stolen by McCain and the GOP.  Now I’m not trying to pick on CD or anyone at Corrente, but I think a very important question needs to be asked:

Assuming for the sake of argument that you are convinced the election was stolen from the rightful winner, does your reaction depend on which side did the stealing?

6 Responses to Got your riot gear ready?

  1. votermom says:

    Over at Corrente they’ve been bringing up Cory Aquino as an example of of a leader of non-violent change. This makes me laugh because Cory Aquino is to the right of Sarah Palin when it comes to abortion and religion.
    (I am very proud of Cory Aquino as a woman leader and groundbreaker, and it’s precisely the example of her and many other conservative women being feminists which allows me to value Palin as a feminist).

  2. TheRealKim says:

    Great post, myig, but I still have to wonder if I shouldn’t lock the doors and hunker down next Tuesday.

  3. Carol says:

    I’m ready to “bring it” if they try to steal it from McCain!

    I’m a child of the 60’s. I by nature should know how to knock a few heads together!

    CAROL HAKA 👿

  4. Laney says:

    MYIQ- I love to rehash the past, thanks, this is terrific… I’m a long time lurker at RD, its always too busy to post there, but wanted to give you a “love your writing and dark humor” nod…

  5. Eleanor A says:

    Heh.

  6. Eleanor A says:

    Whoops! Sorry IQ, that last link was just a fun one I posted on Confluence but got buried in comments justlikethat.

