That’s the DUMBEST fucking thing I ever heard!

stupid

My former homepage blog has degenerated into parody.  From Mandos:

If you are one of those who are deliberately planning not to vote, fine. It’s actually a choice I respect. Someone convinced me a while back that there are cogent reasons for checking out. But if you’re going to vote, vote Obama. And if you’re going to abstain out of anger at Obama, vote Obama.

Yes, even if you think he stole the primaries. Even if you think that he used false accusations of racism to destroy the primaries. Even if you think that his supporters make use of misogyny. Even if you hate Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid’s guts (and there’s lots of reason to do so). Even if you think that the RBC thing was messed up and an enormous case of pants-on-fire cheating. Even if you think he is the Manchurian Candidate, or at least an empty suit. Even if you think his backers negated your primary vote. Even if you detest the pernicious influence of Kos. Even if you really, really want to field dress the horse he rode in on. Even if you think he’s no progressive or lefty or what have you (he isn’t).

Why? Because it’s turned out that meta matters. The American public is by and large in favour of a social-democratic policy consensus. But that doesn’t necessarily effect how things go at the ballot box. How things go at the ballot box is related to all kinds of meta issues. And the meta that matters now is that, regardless of the truth of the matter, it is widely held that Obama is winning on a populist platform. That perception is the 0.0001% margin you get out of the elections, even if it is very likely that you’ll get nothing else.

Because it’s unlikely you’ll get anything else. Except perception. Perception is how the game is played. And it is a game, no matter that it involves people’s lives, and no matter whether you like it or not. Chances are, the world is going to be worse after the election than before no matter who wins, but that’s not the point. Building perceptions is. Meta.

I guess if we can’t stop it we should just lie back and try to create the perception we enjoy it, right Mandos?  As for “meta,” you keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means: 

Meta (from Greek: μετά = “after”, “beyond”, “with”, “adjacent”), is a prefix used in English in order to indicate a concept which is an abstraction from another concept, used to complete or add to the latter.

[…]

A meta-answer is not a real answer but a reply, such as: “this is not a good question

[…]

Any subject can be said to have a meta-theory which is the theoretical consideration of its meta-properties, such as its foundations, methods, form and utility.

In addition to a prefix, “meta” is sometimes used as an adjective (“that statement was meta”).

“Meta” is not a noun, it is either a prefix or an adjective that modifies a noun.  Unless you attach it to another word or use it to modify a noun, it is a meaningless term. 

Thank-you Lambert, for banning me from your blog.  I mean that sincerely, because I would hate to be associated with the farce it has turned into.  Every day there are examples of religious bigotry, unhinged Palin Derangement Syndrome, false accusations of racism and/or hypocrisy.

If that’s PB 2.0, I want nothing to do with it.

15 Responses to That’s the DUMBEST fucking thing I ever heard!

  1. kenoshaMarge says:

    I stopped reading Corrente even before they had the stupidity to ban you. The bit you quoted from mandos is reason enough. They have nothing to say worth reading anymore. And that Sarah critter over there is truly deranged. If I want to visit a lunatic asylum I’ll go visit some relatives.

  2. myiq2xu says:

    I’m disappointed to say that VastLeft’s reasoning was pretty bad too:

    This morning, I’m voting for Barack Obama. For two reasons:

    1. To say “fuck you” to the Republican Party.
    […]
    2. He’s half-black.

  3. kenoshaMarge says:

    Actually I meant to say vastleft instead of mandos. IMHO mandos is not worth reading at any time. Loves the sound of his own keyboard.

  4. myiq2xu says:

    I fixt it fer ya

  5. Laurie says:

    mandos is a young Canadian of Asian origin. Before writing on corrente he had a site with like fotos of filling stations in the Canadian Rockies and one line comments, or of persons eating hamburghers -things like that.

    I couldn’t believe it when I saw it.

  6. vastleft says:

    Sorry you didn’t like my reasoning. A tough decision this year, at least I thought so. Would have been an easy one with Hillary or Edwards or Gore or Feingold or Sanders or Kerry on the ballot.

    I can’t say as I liked Mandos’s reasoning, either. Well, not exactly reasoning. It was more like waving that flashy thing from “Men in Black” at us.

  7. soupcity says:

    Well, like mama used to say..”stupid is as stupid does”. Sheesh.

  8. myiq2xu says:

    Vastleft:

    I don’t like your reasoning but at least it’s coherent.

    What’s truly sad is that you couldn’t find any better reasons to vote for Obama, but that’s not your fault.

  9. vastleft says:

    What’s truly sad is that you couldn’t find any better reasons to vote for Obama, but that’s not your fault.

    True that.

  10. circlejerksnevahstop! says:

    I suck big donkey dicks.

  11. Eddie says:

    Is “CircleJerk…” Lambert?
    Corrente’s a joke. Sarah writes like a crazed person. Kat’s noted that online (Kat’s Korner) and Mandos? I really think for someone to be as heated about any country’s election, they need to be able to vote there. It really bothers me when I see anyone act like that. I don’t care if it’s an American re: Mexico’s elections, or someone in Ireland freaking over an election in England.
    But it’s always easier to point at another country than try to fix your own and that’s why Mandos still has Stephen Harper as a PM despite the elections just weeks ago.

  12. joanie in Brooklyn says:

    Corrente is totally worthless. They’re a bunch of pseudo-intellectuals who write worthless tripe and think they’re saying something. Delete from the blog roll, somebody please

  13. CognitiveDissonance says:

    Now that is hands down the dumbest thing I’ve read in a long time! I stopped going to Corrente a long time ago. It seemed as if the posters were more interested in writing the coolest snark than actually having a coherent discussion about anything.

  14. Ivory Bill Woodpecker says:

    If that’s Mandos, I’m rooting for Morgoth! 😉

  15. […] vegetable garden, and I stopped reading him when he gave miq2xu the boot for mentioning Bill Ayers, yet Mandos remains…go figure. I’m keeping his number, […]

