Normally I would say “so what?”

obama20christian

From Politico:

OBAMA SKIPS CHURCH, HEADS TO GYM

President-elect Barack Obama has yet to attend church services since winning the White House earlier this month, a departure from the example of his two immediate predecessors.

On the three Sundays since his election, Obama has instead used his free time to get in workouts at a Chicago gym.

The usual suspects are in full knickers-twist mode:

OMG, OMG, OMG — it must be because he and Michelle are too busy making “Whitey” tapes or something!

Although, apparently Martin does have the keen eye of a stalker

Except nobody said that, nor did anyone stalk the presumptive President-elect.  This is what life in the spotlight is like for the occupants of the White House, so Obamanation better get used to it.  When GOP politicians do things that are inconsistent with their carefully cultivated public images, it’s news.  Just ask Larry Craig.  So it’s only fair when the media does the same thing to Democrats.

Now I don’t really care if Barack Obama attends a church, temple, mosque or gym every weekend.  But he’s the one who made a big deal over his religious faith.  From Flopping Aces:

This is the same guy who never missed a service at Rev. Wright’s church (”God damn America, U.S. of K.K.K.A”) for 20 years but can’t recall one sermon. I guess he no longer needs the political and social connections that church provided.

It’s the hypocrisy, stupid!

boohoo

2 Responses to Normally I would say “so what?”

  1. johninca says:

    Would it be impertinent for someone who actually attends church to speak here? What we care about is whether he protects human life. I would rather have a president who attends a swingers orgy each Sunday, but protects innocent life, than one who goes to church each week while taking Obama’s attitude.

    No, I’m not one of those laughable, lampoonable, increasingly scapegoated and maligned Fundamentalists. As a traditionalist Catholic I have taken my share of abuse from their side myself– but I have enough in common with them to understand where they’re coming from.

  2. johninca says:

    You know, myiq, I just thought of something. With all those music clips you post,
    you still haven’t done one of my all time favorites. I’d be shocked if it isn’t one of your favorites too…

    Smokey Robinson’s Tears of a Clown.

