Tears of a Clown

What's the matter?  Don't ya like clowns?

What's the matter? Don't ya like clowns?

I don’t blog to be liked.

I didn’t come here because I was lonely and wanted to make new friends.  I started blogging because I have strong opinions and a compulsive need to inflict them on other people.

I intentionally cultivated an obnoxious online persona and chose an ugly homicidal clown as my avatar because I want my arguments to stand on their own.  I don’t want people to agree with me because they like me, I want them to agree with me because they think I’m right.

If Person A says 2 + 2 = 4 and Person B says 2 + 2 = 3 then I will say that Person A is right and Person B is wrong, even if Person A is a jerk and Person B is a saint and a friend.  And I’m not going to change my position even if all my other friends side with Person B.  It’s not about how I feel about Person A or Person B, it’s about what I think is true.

Last year we saw people we liked and respected fall victim to Kool-aid logic.  They liked Obama and wanted to be part of the “in” crowd so suddenly they had no problem believing that Hillary was a racist bitch and that it was okay to call Sarah Palin a stupid c*nt.  They turned on Hillary supporters like rabid chihuahuas and attacked us as Republican ratf*ckers despite the years we spent advocating liberal causes and beliefs.

I’m not claiming to be infallible but if I have to choose between being right and being liked then I will never be popular, and I’ll never get to sit with the kewl kidz.

I can live with that.

6 Responses to Tears of a Clown

  1. Tom65 says:

    I don’t blog to be liked.

    Congrats on achieving your dreams.

  2. Al says:

    Interesting post. Bravo!!!

  3. Ron4Hills says:

    Honesty and integrity are attractive traits, that somehow manage to lose us friends and win us enemies. That is a paradox.

  4. glennmcgahee says:

    Keep writing please.

  5. Anthony says:

    I for one really enjoy visiting. Never found you offensive – but will admit to a belly laugh or two at your sarcasm and wit.

    Pretty soon,all the “Kewl Kidz” will be sitting on line at the local draft board. Then what?

  6. Cindy says:

    My hubby and I feel the way you do. We are no longer popular with our liberal “friends”.
    But, we can look at ourselves in the mirror everyday and know that we have not forsaken our beliefs. We feel good about that, though a little lonely at times. But loneliness is a small price to pay for honor and integrity.

